Sunday, June 14, 2009

The Confederations Cup Kicks-Off On Sunday

The Confederations Cup will kick-off on Sunday 14th June at 16:00hrs.

The tournament which was first patronised and now directly organized by FIFA, will see the participation of all the teams holding their respective continental titles in addition to the world champions and the hosting country which per regulation is the same as the organizing country of the nest world cup.

The debut match will see hosts South Africa play against Iraq while at 20:30hrs the European Champions, Spain, will play against New Zealand.

Italy will play its first match on Monday 15th June at 20:30hrs against the USA. In the afternoon Brazil and Egypt will kick-start the group at 16:00hrs.

As required by FIFA regulations nations belonging to the same federation may not meet, this being the reason why Italy and Spain (UEFA) and South Africa and Egypt (AFC), were inserted in different groups.

The tournament semi-finals are on schedule for the 24th and 25th of June with the winner of each group playing against the runner-up of the other. The finals, will be played on the 28th of June. At 15:00hrs in Rostenburg the final for third place will be played while the final will be played at 20:45hrs at the Ellis Par Stadium in Johannesburg.

Below is the complete program of the Confederations Cup:


South Africa
New Zealand

Match Fixtures

14th June 2009 at 16:00 South Africa - Iraq
14th June 2009 at 20:30 New Zealand - Spain

17th June 2009 at 16:00 Spain - Iraq
17th June 2009 at 20:30 South Africa - New Zealand

20th June 2009 at 20:30 Iraq – New Zealand
20th June 2009 at 20:30 Spain – South Africa



Match fixtures

15th June 2009 at 16:00 Brazil - Egypt
15th June 2009 at 20:30 USA - Italy

18th June 2009 at 16:00 USA - Brazil
18th June 2009 at 20:30 Egypt - Italy

21st June 2009 at 20:30 Italy - Brazil
21st June 2009 at 20:30 Egypt - USA


24th June 2009 at 20.30 1st Group A – 2nd Group B
25th June 2009 at 20.30 1st Group B – 2nd Group A

3rd Place Final

28th June 2009 at 15:00 Loser 1 - Loser 2


28th June 2009 at 20:45 Winner 1 - Winner 2
Read More......